Whether for health reasons or by choice, eliminating gluten from your diet can be a real challenge. Banning grains and products that contain gluten can quickly become a headache. Here are some tips that will help you in your process!
Why eliminate gluten?
There are many reasons for following a gluten-free diet. In people with celiac disease, consuming foods containing wheat may cause a reaction similar to food poisoning. The basic principles? First, we must ban wheat, rye, oats and barley, and opt for gluten-free grains: rice, buckwheat, quinoa, sorghum, etc. These must be marked "gluten free" otherwise they may be contaminated with other grains. Avoid all processed products at all and pay attention to already ground spices, spice mixes and cold cuts, which often contain them.
What foods can you find gluten in?
Did you know that chocolate contains gluten? It is better to be vigilant about certain foods whose gluten content may surprise you.
- Spices: Choose spices certified gluten-free. Otherwise, opt for whole spices, nuts or sticks, not sold in bulk.
- Nuts: Choose unroasted or natural nuts, prepackaged, not sold in bulk.
- Buckwheat: Buckwheat is naturally gluten free, but is subject to contamination. Choose buckwheat bearing the designation gluten-free, not sold in bulk.
- Cocoa: Opt for certified gluten-free cocoa.
- Bulk foods: It is best not to buy in bulk and check the packaging for "may contain wheat".
Precautions to be taken when preparing meals
A few measures should be taken to avoid contamination of a gluten-free food by a food that contains gluten:
- Wash hands thoroughly after handling foods with gluten;
- Make sure kitchen surfaces and utensils are gluten free before preparing gluten-free meals;
- Prepare gluten-free dishes before dishes that contain gluten;
- Beware of condiments: for example, a knife used to spread foods with gluten must not contaminate these same condiments;
- Use frying oil and cooking water intended for gluten-free foods only;
- Use the top rack of the oven and make sure that the rack has not been contaminated with a food that contains gluten;
- Inform everyone present at the meal that special care must be taken not to contaminate the celiac person's meal.
© 2021 The French Gourmet. Any reproduction prohibited without the authorization of the author.